A
American Physical Society Journals - The American Physical Society is the world’s second largest organization of physicists and publishes more than a dozen scientific journals including the prestigious Physical Review and Physical Review Letters. (Only accessible from within the library)
Ancestry.com Library Edition– Access from the library public computers.
B
Britannica Academic – Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the venerable Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research.
Britannica Elementary – Encyclopedia Britannica for elementary school students. Lets students look for people, places and things, watch and learn with videos and animations, and have fun with games and activities.
Britannica High – Encylopedia Britannica for high school students. Helps students get quick facts and in-depth information on a wide variety of subjects. Start research projects with multiple resources in one place and find multimedia to use in projects and presentations.
Britannica Middle – Encyclopedia Britannica for middle school students. Helps students find fast answers and get homework help, explore videos and articles on famous people and places as well as discover maps, photos, and illustrations for school projects.
Britannica Primaria – Geared towards elementary school students, the leading resource for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Britannica Secundaria – Geared towards high school students, the leading resource for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. New features make it more valuable than ever for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.
Business Insights:Essentials – information on companies, markets and industries. Topics covered include market trends, mergers and acquisitions, management theory and company overviews. Access over 3,900 journals, magazines and newspapers, and nearly 25,000 industry reports 11,000 company histories and 500,000 company profiles.
D
DaybyDayNY.org - is an interactive calendar to develop a love for books and learning that will last a lifetime. The calendar features free picture books, songs, and family activities to build reading skills.
DaybyDayNYsp.org - es un calendario interactivo en español para desarrollar un amor por la lectura. El calendario presenta libros de imágenes, canciones, y actividades familiares.
Directory of Open Access Journals – A service that covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Driving Tests offers free New York State Driver Permit practice tests and driver handbooks. Use to study for your license or get a refresher on the rules of the road. ¿Habla español? Vaya al sitio web y selecciona la pestaña “en español” a la derecha para estudiar para el examen de manejo.
E
Educator’s Reference Complete – A collection of more than 1,100 peridiocals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator–from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate an graduate level. Educator’s Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty–such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Essential Online Health Information for Older Adults – This publication provides guidance for older adults on navigating essential online tools to research health topics and evaluate and manage health services. In addition to demonstrating how each resource can be accessed and used, there are tips on internet privacy and general web searching. This publication is offered in conjunction with a series of public presentations launched at Westchester County’s Senior Law Day, October 2018. Supported by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH) under cooperative agreement UG4LM012342 with the University of Pittsburgh, Health Sciences Library System.
F
Firstfind.org - offers information and links to learning tools for those who want to get their high school equivalency diploma, go to college, learn English, or get a job. Good starting point for teens and adults.
Free Music Archive – The Free Music Archive provides free, high-quality, music in a wide range of genres. The content on Free Music Archive is used under various creative commons licenses. The New York State Music Fund provided initial funding for FMA. FMA seeks to maintain a high-quality resource through the use of selected curators who approve or deny all submissions to the collection.
Fulton History – A historic newspaper website which contains archives of over 1000 New York newspapers, and some from other states and Canada.
G
Gale Academic OneFile - contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, including full-text articles from the New York Times go back to 1985.
Gale Books and Authors - offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics.
Gale General OneFile – This one-stop source for news and magazine articles on a wide range of topics has millions of full-text articles, many with images. It indexes over 13,000 popular magazines covering a wide variety of subjects with full-text is available for over 6,000 of them and is updated daily.
Gale In Context Elementary – Designed for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5, this database features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface. Move from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. Full-text content is curriculum-related and age appropriate.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints – The number one online resource for today’s burning issues. This database will help students research, analyze, and organize a wide range of data for performing research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, presentations, and more.
Gale OneFile Health and Medicine (Health Reference Center Academic) – A multi-source database providing access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, and a wide variety of personal health information sources. This database offers reliable health information to consumers, students and health professionals.
Gale OneFile Informe Académico – Meets the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Informe Académico provides quality reference material–not simply translations of English-language materials–on a powerful, easy-to-use interface configured for Spanish-speaking users, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
Gale OneFile News – Search major U.S. and world newspapers, most indexed cover-to-cover and with full articles. This database includes full-text articles from the New York Times going back to 1985.
Google News Archive – Search and explore information from historical archives dating back over 200 years. For a quick how-to on using Google News Archive see this post on the Free Technology for Teachers blog.
L
LinkedIn Learning – LinkedIn Learning– formerly Lynda.com—has made changes to its terms of service to provide a solution that preserves library users’ privacy. Under LinkedIn Learning’s revised terms, a library cardholder will no longer need to create a LinkedIn profile in order to access LinkedIn Learning. Additionally, users will need no longer need to provide an email address to use the service; they will be able to sign on with a library card number and PIN.
M
Mango Languages - a personalized, adaptive language-learning experience that provides the tools and guidance you need to expand your language skills wherever and however you learn best. Click here for USER GUIDE
Medici.tv - Video streaming classical music, opera, dance, and jazz. Watch recorded and live performances, documentaries and master classes from around the world. Vídeo en streaming de música clásica, ópera, danza y jazz. Vea presentaciones grabadas y en vivo, documentales y clases magistrales de todo el mundo.
Medline Plus – is the National Institutes of Health’s site for patients and their families. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it offers reliable, up-to-date information on diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos and illustrations. There arfe links to the latest medical research and to clinical trials.
The Merck Manuals – Offering both the Professional and Consumer versions, The Merck Manuals are one of the world’s most widely used medical information resources. The Manuals have committed to making the best current medical information accessible by up to 3 billion health care professionals and patients on every continent by 2020.
Mergent Archives – Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of more than a century’s worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy-to-navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Mergent Intellect – Powered by Hoover’s™, a Dun & Bradstreet Solution, Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence.
Mergent Online – This state-of-the-art product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with the latest in features and functions.
N
NOVELny - an online library of literally hundreds of magazines, newspapers, maps, charts, research and reference books that are available to every New Yorker, free of charge.
New York State Newspapers – Full-text articles from major New York newspapers, including: The New York Daily News, The New York Post, and The Albany Times Union.
The New York Times – Collection of ten major newspapers published in New York State, searchable by section, keyword or relevance. (Full-text)
NYS Physicians Profile – Look up a physician’s education and training. You may also find information on their practice and community activities. Legal actions may also be included. If you’re having trouble locating a doctor, read the search tips. Information is more recent and more complete than print directories.
O
Oxford Islamic Studies – This database brings together the best current scholarship in the field of Islamic studies. Aimed at students, scholars, government officials, community groups, and librarians its purpose is to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. It features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated.
P
The PDR for Patients – Information on prescription drugs from a trusted source, although it is supported by advertising. For information on drugs, drug recalls & safety alerts, to report adverse reactions, find information on medical devices and other topics of interest to the medical consumer and probessional see: The Food &Drug Adminstation.
Project Gutenberg – A collection of free eBooks.
ProQuest NY Historical Newspapers - Search 9 historical newspapers in New York, including Journal News. This service is available to Hart Library cardholders.
R
Resume Builder – Build resume from scratch or format a resume.
S
The Shelf - Spanish-language multimedia entertainment – movies, TV series, music, performing arts, podcasts, and more – from over 30 countries for kids and adults. Stream recorded or live performances. Entretenimiento multimedia en español (películas, series de televisión, música, artes escénicas, podcasts y más) de más de 30 países para niños y adultos. Transmita presentaciones grabadas o en vivo.
Secrets of the Sequences – With initial funding from the Pfizer Foundation and the National Academy of Sciences, VCU has assembled 50 of the best videos from the public television series, “Secrets of the Sequence” to assist teachers in the application of genetic research across the biology curriculum. Funding from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute has allowed for the creation of additional videos, which are also included on this site.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law – brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Please note: Home access is not available. This resource is offered at no cost by HeinOnline.
T
Tumblebooks - includes hundreds of full-color animated books in which words are highlighted as they are read aloud, many with musical accompaniment. Topics from fairy tales to science facts offer fun for children from preschool age through 6th grade.
Tumblebooks en español - es una colección de TumbleBooks: libros animados con ilustraciones que hablan y enseñan a los niños a leer en inglés en un formato que les encantará. Los libros de TumbleBooks se crean a partir de libros ilustrados ya existentes, a los que se les añade animaciones, sonido, música y narraciones para dar vida a un libro electrónico ilustrado que se puede leer o escuchar.
Tutor.com - Online tutoring company that connects students K- 12 and beyond to tutors in an online classroom. This is a FREE service that includes live, online tutors for homework help, test prep for ACT and SAT, and resume review.
U
University of Fashion – Learn fashion design online from top NYC fashion college instructors & fashion industries professionals. Learn Draping, Sewing, Pattern Making, Fashion Product Development, Fashion Business, and Fashion Art.
X
X-PLAIN Patient Education Topics – This is the largest library of interactive multimedia software for patient education available on the web. Come here to view information on a wide variety of health topics.